New Ladies of Llangollen FIND

Chris, a reader of this Ladies of Llangollen blog, had a question that he hoped a look at the Hamwood Papers would answer. The book didn’t seem to yield what he had hoped, but I did notice a mention of two articles that appeared in Belgravia magazine. The *thrill* for me is that I managed to FIND this online at books.google!!

The Ladies of Llangollen – part 1, Belgravia magazine

The Ladies of Llangollen – part 2, Belgravia magazine

I will also include, for those (like me) who don’t stay online long, two WORD files containing the relevent pages: ladies1-Part 1;  ladies2-Part 2

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    May 21, 2012 @ 20:52:08

    I was so into a story in the second part and as I got to the end it said to be cont…!
    ahhhh LOLs I was crushed…is there a 3rd part or how can I find the rest of the story…
    I enjoyed reading these..thank you for sharing…
    Take Care..
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply

    • Janeite Kelly
      May 22, 2012 @ 10:31:05

      Dear Maryrose — you would LOVE Mavor’s old (1970s?) biography of the Ladies of Llangollen. I got a used paperback copy long ago, but Moonrise Press has recently reprinted the book. The extracts Belgravia published were based on original letters, and do get mention in The Hamwood Papers (published back in the 1930s). Hamwood is predominately Eleanor’s diaries; while Mavor is an well-balanced biography written in narrative. Both are *highly* recommended for great reads.

      And thanks, too, for reading the blog – and commenting!

      k

      Reply

Leave a Reply

