More Seward: Letters from 1796

Have posted some more of the Anna Seward letters — this time from the year 1796. These are full letters, taken from the six volumes published in 1811.

You can read more about my plans for correspondents by clicking on the main link “Correspondence & Correspondents“.

I’d love to hear comments: If any later publications of these letters (NOT reprints) were ever published? Do the original letters exist? We all know that some editing was usually done in publications of letters… See, for instance, the comments and replies on “Regency Reads”.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Rendell
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 09:52:25

    Always interested in Anna – even if some of her “Honora” poems were sometimes a bit trite! I am directly descended from her (my 4xgreat grandfather married a Seward) and I have one or two of her letters and copies of portraits of her as a young girl. Mike

    Reply

    • Janeite Kelly
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 21:18:55

      Hi, Mike — great to hear from you again. My, you have the “Georgian Gentleman” in your family tree and Miss Seward. How Lucky! I bought your book; can’t wait to read it. I’ve more Seward to post. Stay tuned.

      I’m curious, if any of the letters you have were published in the 19th century, do you find they heavily edited or fairly handled??

      k

      Reply

      • http://mikerendell.com
        Jul 05, 2012 @ 10:32:07

        I was of course wrong to say I was directly descended from Anna….I am descended from her grandfather. My ancestor first met Anna when she was a child attending his wedding to her aunt Eleanor Seward. Theirs was a double wedding – another Seward cousin got married at the same time and the service was conducted by Anna’s father.
        I have a couple of letters from Anna – unpublished, and really no more than family letters. Interestingly she chides her uncle for not asking after Honora when he writes (perhaps it was a sore point that she was not thought of as part of a couple?).
        My ancestor regarded Anna as one of his more important friends. Lower echelons (eg the Baptist minister) got Colchester oysters for Christmas (they cost 3 shillings and 4pence a barrel) whereas Anna and other well connected or discerning people were sent oysters from Pyfleet at a shilling extra!
        I hope you enjoy The Journal of a Georgian Gentleman – do let me know how you get on! Mike

  2. Janeite Kelly
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 22:59:01

    Hi, Mike — I’ve never read all the volumes of Seward’s letters; you think the “family letters” were deliberately left out? Must admit those types of letters are what I love, like those that have been unraveling the lives of my Emma Austen Leigh and Mary Lady Smith.

    I just always wonder about early (ie, 19th century) thoughts on “editing” letters for publication…

    Ah, the way you write about her makes Anna come alive!

    k

    Reply

Leave a Reply

