Ghostly “Knockings” at Plas Newydd

Reader LIZ, who is counting down the days until she’s standing on Llangollen terra firma, mentioned a YouTube video on paranormal sightings at Plas Newydd.

As any good investigator would do, I searched for the link myself!

most haunted

I must agree with Liz, as to the comical repetition in a show where the line “Did you hear that?’ occurs over and again (and, I must confess, with a new roof going on the house the day I watched, frankly, NO! I didn’t hear that…). But I also agree that it’s nice to be brought inside Plas Newydd!

Just in case links cause videos to get taken down, I won’t post a link to any one video (today I see two users offering the full 44-minute episode). but the photo (above) will start off those wishing to see more.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose McMahon
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 13:31:17

    Yes, I shake my head and roll my eyes over this nonsense being perpetrated by thrill seekers, and Denbighshire County Council trying to make money by hiring the museum out to ghost hunters.

    In all my years as Curator of Plas Newydd I was in the house at all hours of the day and night, and never once experienced the tiniest frisson of spectral activity. Furthermore, if I was called out to the burglar alarm in the small hours, I’d take my Boxer dogs with me, who, being very sensitive animals, would have told me if there were any ghosts on the premises.

    I can say that the people who claim to possess psychic powers are able to convince themselves of any old fiction in order to promote the fiction that they can sense and communicate with spirits, and many of the stories reeled out by the ghost hunting companies were invented before my very eyes.

    When the Most Haunted crew were on the site, I walked in on them when they were fabricating an apparition using their lighting effects, and as for the claim of finding a previously unknown room ( what is an ‘official surveyor’?) that had only just been discovered, that is a complete lie.

    Reply

  2. Janeite Kelly
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 11:33:10

    You were still at Plas Newydd when they were filming?! how interesting! I’ve never seen this series before.

    Makes me think of the book about the two ladies who experienced odd occurrences when visiting Versailles. There’s something a bit more “you never know…” about their experiences than a group of people standing in a room, talking about how cold it is and asking for ‘knocks’.

    Still, it is NICE to see inside the house, for those of us who don’t know it as well as you.

    Thanks, for commenting, Rose!

    k

    Reply

Leave a Reply

